1. Poor Ned
  2. I Was Only 19
  3. Nuclear Cop
  4. Spirit of the Land
  5. Beyond Reason
  6. Bomb Iran
  7. Just Another Moment on Your Own
  8. Killing Floor
  9. I’ve Been to Bali Too
  10. Still Life
  11. ASIO
  12. Diamantina Drover
  13. It’ll Be All Right in the Long Run


Mark Williams

Credits coming soon…

The grey wintry rains had well and truly arrived in Amsterdam when Redgum made their debut visit to the city in late 1985. It was part of a three month tour through Europe and the United Kingdom – later extended to four months – as the band took their music to that part of the world for the first time.

The Melkweg (The Milky Way) club, one of Amsterdam’s best known music venues, is where U2 and The Clash played their first shows in the Netherlands. It was here, on a bitterly cold and wet night, that this Redgum live album was recorded by front-of-house engineer Mark Williams.

He recalls, “It was the only venue I’ve worked in where you could legally buy drugs! On the tape I wrote, “Mixed by Colombian Gold”. You could have a joint when you were mixing, which is exactly what I did!”

Before joining Redgum, Mark Williams had made his reputation as a top-notch front-of-house engineer working with Russell Morris & The Rubes, The Russell Morris Band, Mi-Sex and The Eurogliders.

He was working at Melbourne touring audio and lighting Troy Balance Sound when his name was recommended by highly respected production engineer Rod Matheson (whose clients included Midnight Oil, Silverchair, Kiss and Kylie Minogue) to Redgum, initially for their biggest Australian tour to date.

At the end of the tour, Mark Williams was asked to accompany the band and Dugald McAndrew who did their live production, to Europe and the UK.

Williams says, “I’d never been out of Australia before, it was my first and only visit to that part of the world so it was quite exciting.

By Christie Eliezer
(Extract from Bonus 20 Page Booklet)